The Volvo Ocean Race


With the Volvo Ocean Race announced team AkzoNobel has been entered as the first competing teams for the race. The entries are being taken on in the next year and there are 15 months left in the next edition to start. The Dutch campaign would be chaperoned by Simeon Tienpont who is a professional sailor from the Netherlands.

This would be his third among Volvo Ocean Races, and he would be entering first as skipper this time. The other championships and tournament news on ailing comprise of news of Ida Lewis trophy. Here Patricia Gerli and Sarah Burn earned the title in the US Junior Women’s double handed championship.

The championship was played out on the waters of the Gulf Coast in Mississippi. The championship was hosted by none other than Bay-Waveland Yacht Club. The regatta was conducted over three days from July 8th to 10th. Two representatives of the Mantoloking Yacht Club and Bay Head Yacht Club won three out of the eight races while there were others of the American Yacht Club who also won.

Other news of racing in the sailing world is that of Farr 40. This European Championship had Terry Hutchinson serves as crew boss and tactician. There were five amateurs on the crew. The owner and driver was Roepers. He has captured two more titles in Rolex Farr 40 World European Championship till now of 2016 and 2014.

Another piece of news from the world of speed sailing is the new record that has been set. This was announced by the World Sailing Speed Record Council whilst they were working with a Split Yacht Charter company. They want a new standard for yachts that come with a powered sailing mechanism. The new standard was set for the course spanning from Newport to Bermuda.

The new standard was set by Comanche, which is a 100 foot super maxi yacht that is owned by a couple from Australia. The record set was for a day, 10 hours along with 42 minutes and culminating with 53 seconds for a course of 635 nautical miles. The average speed that was maintained was 18.2 knots.